Philanthropy Day

2014 AFP-WNC National Philanthropy Day

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Celebrate philanthropy in Western North Carolina and the contributions of our 2014 award recipients at our National Philanthropy Day Luncheon. Our award recipients are:

Fundraising Summit Award: Dr. Olson Huff

Outstanding Philanthropist of the Year: Bill and Bonnie Kinschner

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser: Greg Burnette

Outstanding Business in Philanthropy: Harrah’s Cherokee Casino

Outstanding Foundation in Philanthropy: The Glass Foundation

Outstanding Fundraising Executive: Donna Ensley

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy: Samantha Davis

T. Kennon Roberson Award for Management Excellence in Non-profit Health and Human Service Agencies: Mark Upright

Date: Tuesday, November 18, 2014
Time: 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Location: The Renaissance Asheville Hotel, 31 Woodfin Street, Asheville, NC
Program Prices: $210 for a table of eight; $30 for an individual ticket

Click here to register!

Please see our list of sponsors who make this celebration possible.


In honor of National Philanthropy Day® AFP will be offering a $50.00 discount to new members joining in the Professional or Associate member categories by November 30, 2014!

 Please click here to get your discount coupon and become a new member of AFP!

The Association of Fundraising Professionals Western North Carolina Chapter thank these award winners for their commitment to philanthropy in our region!


Previous National Philanthropy Day Award Recipients

Fundraising Summit Award

2011-The Janirve Foundation, 2008-Pat Smith, 2006- Norman Fink and Marshall Monroe, 2002-Mimi Cecil

Outstanding Philanthropist/Philanthropist of the Year

2013 – Mack B. Pearsall, 2012-Charles and Jody Silver, 2011-Teddi Segal, 2010-S.M. “Buddy” Patton (in memoriam), Marilyn Patton and Barbara Blomberg, 2009-Don and Lisbeth Cooper, 2008-Charles D. and Cary Owen (Charlie and Cary), 2007-Dr. Kathleen McGrady, 2006-Margaret and Duane McKibben, 2005–Tina McGuire, 2004-Mark and Teri Muir, 2003-Paul F. Toebke, 2002-Mr. and Mrs. Jack Ferguson, 2001-Dr. Keith Black, 2000-Morris and Leah Karpen, 1999-Joel B. Adams, 1998-Dr. and Mrs. George M. Bilbrey and James A. Cooper, 1997-Martha Guy, 1996-J. Wesley Jones, MD and the Junior League of Asheville, 1995-Adelaide Daniels Key, 1994-Pamela Mills Turner, 1993-John Teeter, 1992-Raybern H. Dean.

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser

2013-Cissie Stevens, 2012-Harry Brown, 2011-John Hartom and Lisa Blackburn, 2010-Richard Hurley, 2009-Richard “Dick” Allen, 2008-Jennie Eblen, 2007-Janice and Joe Brumit, 2006- Dorothy Dellenger Marlow, 2005-Colin E. Thomas, MD, 2004-Doris Eklund, 2003-Brenda Nash, 2002-Ruth and Luther Barnhardt, 2001-Alice and Arthur Green, 2000-James W. Stickney, IV, 1999-Phyllis Foxx, 1998-Hugh and Margaret (Danny) Verner, 1997-Marcia Burton Caserio, 1996-June Lenoci and Sue McClinton, 1995-W. Louis Bissette, Jr., 1994-C. Robert Bell, Jr., 1993-Ernest Ferguson, 1992-Glenn Wilcox.

Outstanding Business in Philanthropy

2013-Charlotte Street Computers, 2012-State Employees’ Credit Union, 2011-Asheville Savings Bank, 2010-Parsec Financial Management, 2009-Johnson, Price & Sprinkle, PA, CPA, 2008-Carolina First, 2007-Mast General Store,  2006- Asheville Cardiology and Associates, 2005-Office Environments, 2004-Eaton Electrical, 2003-HomeTrust Bank, 2002-Ingles Markets, Inc., 2001-Steelcase, Inc., 2000-Wachovia Bank of WNC, 1999-First Citizens Bank, 1998-Nantahala Outdoor Center.

Outstanding Foundation in Philanthropy
2013-Western Carolina Medical Society, 2012-The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, 2011-CarePartners Foundation, 2010-Eblen Charities, 2009-Mission Healthcare Foundation, Inc., 2008-Community Foundation of Henderson County, 2007-Melvin R. Lane Fund of The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina, 2006- Sisters of Mercy of NC Foundation, 2005-Vineyard Family Foundation of Hendersonville, 2004-New Leaf Fund, 2003-The Susanne Marcus Collins Foundation, 2002-The Janirve Foundation.

Outstanding Fundraising Executive

2013-J.Donald Harris, 2011-Linda Wilkerson, 2010-Alex Comfort, 2009-John Pfaff,2008-Anita R. Metcalf, 2007-Ann Fritschner, ACFRE, 2006- Michelle Garashi-Ellick, 2005-Carla Sutherland, 2004-Myra Grant, 2003 Fern Wallin McCrimmon, 2002-Raymond Cruitt, 2001-Bruce D. Thorsen, 2000-Patricia S. Smith, 1999-Mark A. Bailey, 1998-Albert S. Gooch, Jr., 1997-George J. Pfeiffer.

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy

2013-Pageant Nevel, 2012-Katy Conner, 2010-Carter Tindall, 2006-Anna Martin

T. Kennon Roberson Award for Management Excellence in Non-profit Health & Human Service Agencies

2013-Paul Vest, 2012-Allison Jordan with Children First/Communities in Schools, 2010-Ellen Clarke with WCCJ, 2009- Robin Myer with Big Brothers Big Sisters of WNC, 2008- Scott Dedman with Mountain Housing Opportunities, 2007- Holly Jones with YWCA of Asheville, 2006- Jim Barrett with Pisgah Legal Services, 2005- Celeste Collins with Consumer Credit Counseling Service of WNC/OnTrack WNC, 2004- Lewis Kraus with Habitat for Humanity, 2003-Toby Ives with MANNA Foodbank, 2002-T. Kennon Roberson with Asheville-Mountain Area Chapter of the American Red Cross.

A note regarding the T. Kennon Roberson Award for Management Excellence in Non-profit Health and Human Services: In January 2001, after a 36-year career with the American Red Cross, T. Kennon Roberson retired from his position as Chapter Manager of the Asheville-Mountain Area Chapter.  He exemplified so many qualities of outstanding leadership in his field, the Red Cross Board of Directors established an annual Award for Management Excellence in Non-profit Health & Human Services in his honor.  A committee of citizens was charged with the administration of this award, which annually recognizes the valuable contributions of professional managers in non-profit health and human services agencies in Buncombe County.  Beginning in 2012, this award is presented at the Association of Fundraising Professional’s National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon in November.