National Philanthropic Day Past Award Recipients 2018-01-07T10:06:21+00:00

National Philanthropic Day Past Award Recipients

Fundraising Summit Award
2015 United Way of Asheville and Buncombe County
2014 Dr. Olson Huff
2011 The Janirve Foundation
2008 Pat Smith
2006 Norman Fink and Marshall Monroe
2003 John Gile (Lifetime Achievment Award)
2002 Mimi Cecil

Outstanding Philanthropist
2017 Dawn Starks
2016 Barbara and George Groome
2015 Janna and Rick Lutovsky
2014 Bill and Bonnie Kinschner
2013 Mack B. Pearsall
2012 Charles and Jody Silver
2011 Teddi Segal
2010 S.M. “Buddy” Patton (in memoriam), Marilyn Patton and Barbara Bloomberg
2009 Don and Lisbeth Cooper
2008 Charles D. & Cary Owen
2007 Dr. Kathleen McGrady
2006 Duane and Margaret McKibbin
2005 Tina McGuire
2004 Mark and Teri Muir
2003 Paul F. Toebke
2002 Mr. and Mrs. Jack Ferguson
2001 Dr. Keith Black
2000 Morris and Leah Karpen
1999 Joel B. Adams
1998 Dr. and Mrs. George M. Bilbrey, Jr. and James A. Cooper
1997 Martha Guy
1996 J. Wesley Jones, M.D. and Junior League of Asheville
1995 Adelaide Daniels Key
1994 Pamela Mills Turner
1993 John Teeter
1992 Rayburn H. Dean

Outstanding Foundation in Philanthropy
2017 Cherokee Preservation Foundation
2016 Duke Energy Foundation
2014 The Glass Foundation
2013 Western Carolina Medical Society Foundation
2012 The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina
2011 CarePartners Foundation
2010 Eblen Charities
2009 Mission Healthcare Foundation, Inc.
2008 Community Foundation of Henderson County
2007 Melvin R. Lane Fund of The Community Foundation of Western North Carolina
2006 Sisters of Mercy of NC Foundation
2005 Vineyard Family Foundation of Hendersonville
2004 New Leaf Fund
2003 The Susanne Marcus Collins Foundation
2002 The Janirve Foundation

Outstanding Business in Philanthropy
2017 TD Bank
2016 Dixon Hughes Goodman LLP
2015 Champion Comfort Experts
2014 Harrah’s Cherokee Casino
2013 Charlotte Street Computers
2012 State Employees’ Credit Union
2011 Asheville Savings Bank
2010 Parsec Financial
2009 Johnson, Price & Sprinkle, PA
2008 Carolina First
2007 Mast General Store
2006 Asheville Cardiology and Associates
2005 Office Environments
2004 Eaton Electrical
2003 Home Trust Bank
2002 Ingles Markets, Inc.
2001 Steelcase, Inc.
2000 Wachovia Bank of WNC
1999 First Citizens Bank
1998 Nantahala Outdoor Center

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
2017 Carol McCollum
2016 Pam and Tom Siekman
2015 Rob Pulleyn
2014 Greg Burnette
2013 Cissie Stevens
2012 Harry Brown
2011 Lisa Blackburn and John Hartom
2010 Richard Hurley
2009 Richard “Dick” Allen
2008 Jennie Eblen
2007 Joe and Janice Brumit
2006 Dorothy “Dot” Dellenger Marlow
2005 Colin E. Thomas, MD
2004 Doris Eklund
2003 Brenda Nash
2002 Ruth and Luther Barnhardt
2001 Alice and Arthur Green
2000 James W. Stickney, IV
1999 Phyllis Foxx
1998 Hugh and Margaret (Danny) Verner
1997 Marcia Burton Caserio
1996 June Lenoci and Sue McClinton
1995 W. Louis Bissette, Jr.
1994 C. Robert Bell, Jr.
1993 Ernest Ferguson
1992 Glenn Wilcox

Outstanding Fundraising Executive
2017 Amanda Edwards, CFRE
2016 Tami Ruckman, CFRE
2014 Donna Ensley
2013 J. Donald “Don” Harris
2011 Linda Wilkerson
2010 Alex Comfort, CFRE
2009 John Pfaff
2008 Anita R. Metcalf
2007 Anne Fritschner, ACFRE
2006 Michele Garashi – Ellick
2005 Carla Sutherland
2004 Myra Grant
2003 Fern Wallin McCrimmon
2002 Raymond Cruitt
2001 Bruce D. Thorsen
2000 Patricia S. Smith
1999 Mark A. Bailey
1998 Albert S. Gooch, Jr.
1997 George J. Pfeiffer

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
2016 Emily Snider
2015 Megan Raxter
2014 Samantha Davis
2013 Pageant Nevel
2012 Katy Conner
2010 Carter Tindall
2006 Anna Martin

T. Kennon Roberson Award for Management Excellence in
Non-profit Health & Human Services Agencies

2017 Tom Campbell with Black Mountain Home for Children
2015 Rev. Judith Long, MNA, MD with The Free Clinics
2014 Mark Upright with Eliada
2013 Paul Vest with YMCA of Western North Carolina
2012 Allison Jordan with Children First/Communities in Schools
2010 Ellen Clarke with WCCJ
2009 Robin Myer with Big Brothers Big Sisters of WNC
2008 Scott Dedman with Mountain Housing Opportunities
2007 Holly Jones with YWCA of Asheville
2006 Jim Barrett with Pisgah Legal Services
2005 Celeste Collins with Consumer Credit Counseling Services of OnTrack WNC
2004 Lewis Kraus with Habitat for Humanity
2003 Toby Ives with MANNA FoodBank
2002 T. Kennon Roberson with Asheville-Mountain Area Chapter of the American Red Cross